Art or Wank?

11 01 2008

It never stops to amaze me what passes for art these days. Remember “Piss Christ” or Tracy Emin’s bed complete with dirty knickers.

The latest example of shock art is the piece called Spent by Jordan McKenzie is about to go on display in Centre for Recent Drawing in Highbury, north London. McKenzie found a way of combining business with pleasure by ejaculating over canvas and sprinkling carbon over the results to immortalise them.

Some critics slammed his semen work as absolutely ridiculous and but the artist who plans to create three drawings a week said: “This is only the first batch of them. …It is a diary of my ejaculations they are heartfelt and delicate. …I hope people will come and see them – not judge them out of hand.”

Indeed. People can come around to my house and see what I can do for arts sake.

I am curious if there are any government grants available for such artworks? Being of non-Anglo origin, perhaps I could argue that I am raising multicultural awareness and dialogue within the community. What about combining art schools with sperm banks? It could work. I am certain that a  tug on the old fella beats a dry lecture on Rembrandt any day.

P.S. Instead of slamming the artist’s creative genius, critics should be excited at the new possibilities offered by the semen medium. If the artist continues to hone his technique he could give us the world’s first “semen Mona Lisa”, or a portrait of Paris Hilton at least.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 01 2008
Sarah Elizabeth

I was wondering when somebody would incorporate semen into art. I pretty much figured it was only a matter of time. But I love Tracey Emin.

2 02 2008
Imagineer

Well, I guess it could bring a whole new meaning to the words, “one day I will paint my masterpiece.”

6 02 2008
Willy Wanker

Sounds like a labor of love. Wonder if he gives lessons on techniques, styles, etc.

Leave a Reply

